The Sign

Ace of Base’s song “The Sign” is our generations Beatles if you were a pre-teen kid in the summer of 1994.

I will happily admit that I bought the tape cassette the same day as Hootie and The Blowfish, but I didn’t pay Hootie NOR his Blowfish any mind, cuz I was jamming out to Ace of Base that summer.

Now the biggest song off of this album, The Sign, is their hit song…The Sign!  It’s like they knew it was the best!  It also had the classics “Don’t Turn Around” and “All That She Wants”.  This album was STACKED!

So time to review this amazing video in my now popular 90’s music review.  Let’s do this!  The Sign.

:03 This was known as “serious 90’s face”.  A face I still try NOT to use to this day.

:10 What is with that hand!?  Was it doing the fapping motion?!

:13 Look at that fist bump dance!  Fancy!  How did that ever got out of style?

:20 Who would you rather?  That’s a tough one.  You like blondes?  Brunettes?  Sorry redheads, not allowed in Ace of Base!  Neither are minorities apparently.

:24 That damn hand is back!!!  It’s pounding itself.

:30 So my buddy Dino is convinced this song is about Devil worship.  I’m not so sure.

:39 Wow, get a room you two, make out city, population them.

:45 The 90’s were such a weird time.  If you lived through it, it’s hard to describe, maybe for another blog perhaps?

:46 Yes…another blog.

:50 What is with the dudes?  They are acting so tough but this song…is not.

:57 Rewatch this guy dance three times, just rewind, don’t worry, I’ll wait!

1:06 I’ll go with the blonde.

1:15 It’s the SIGN!!!!!

1:24 Seriously, get a room!  It’s like that uncomfortable make out at a party, and I am nowhere near as drunk as I should be right now for it to be comfortable.

1:32 Seriously, the 90’s were so weird!

1:39 Always thought she said “Why would a virgin?”  Wow, my mind is blown.

1:50 Do they still tour!?

1:52 They did but the blonde is gone!

1:57 Okay, I think I see how Dino thought this was a devil thing now.  That damn sign is frightening!

1:59 Rewind this part and watch it a few times, I’ll wait again, totally worth it.

2:11 So do the band members date each other?  I’m kinda confused about this.  What is going on exactly?!  Are they like Abba?

2:30  You have now watched 18 seconds of bad European dancing.

2:32 Make that 20 seconds.

2:38 I think “The Sign” is that flower!?

2:39 Does it mean love!?  It has to mean love, right!?

2:40 Nope, the sign is making out.  Hard.

2:49 Maybe the brunette is cuter?

2:50 No, it’s the blonde.  Kinda European Jennifer Lawrence’ish.

2:52 Nope, nope, nope.  Never mind.

3:02 WHAT IS THE SIGN!?!?!?!

3:02 I saw that fist thing again!

3:07 That guys shirt is the shit.  I’m not even gonna lie.

3:14 Am I supposed to look up!?  IS THE SIGN ABOVE ME!?

3:16 I’m going home, with this song constantly replaying in my head.

One thought on “The Sign

Leave a comment