Paul Shaffer

This weeks top 10 is brought to you by 

1. So the Super Bowl is this weekend, and I’m sure you have an opinion about it.  I really could care less (previously expressed in previous post) but go Pats, I guess.  Because the anarchy from the “cheating” team winning would be fantastic.  I just really…hate…the Seahawks.  It’s not even because of my friend Ben’s fandom of them, there are plenty of reasons: Pete Caroll, the now nonexistant 49ers being their main rival, Richard Sherman, Russell Wilson’s State Farm commercials, Jeremy Lane saying Gronk sucks, Jeremy Lane, basically everybody but Earl Thomas and the now iconic Marshawn Lynch.

2. I’ll save my rant for the Patriots win at number 2.  So if the Pats win, they go down as the best dynasty of all time… regardless of balls not being inflated, or cheating vids, or Belichick’s sweatshirt love, they win.  I just HATE that they will eclipse the 9ers, Cowboys, Steelers, Packers (that’s the top 5 franchises of all time, want to argue?  Go for it).  Sadly if the Seahawks win and have a few more good years, sure, maybe in the discussion…god I hate football.

3. I rant about football every week, so I’m going to do an opposite rant and talk about how awesome every other sport is going to be this year.  Baseball should be awesome for me because the Mariners are going to be better and hopefully the Cubs improved enough to make the playoffs, I just want to see them win so bad!  Speaking of Chicago teams, maybe my Bulls can finally win something and um, hockey is always fun…in June.

4. Thanks to my buddy Travis, I was exposed to DA COCO!!!  Song of the week!

5. Had a good time this weekend, I noticed some things in my age 32 year of drinking.  2 beers gets me GASSED, so watch out if I add even one Jack and Coke to that.  Also if you add shots in…goodnight.  We also went to Twin Peaks that night, which is like going to Hooters, but only if the customers ripped off even more of the waitresses clothing.  Needless to say I give it a good grade on the actual appearance and a low, low grade on the food.  Drinks were great though, especially the Dirty Blonde.

6. The movie Boyhood, which will most likely win an Oscar is good…but holy shit, it’s LONG.  So long I felt I relived my own childhood.  It also made me think how movies kinda suck now.

TV shows are so much better now, that unless you’re a superhero movie or a movie where Affleck may or may not have killed his wife (and show his dick) it’s not a good flick.  It seems there’s been a sharp turn for the worse in quality.  Hopefully it picks up, but if you’ve seen the lineups for movies the next few years…um, I just don’t know

7. Rat Pack 11…as I am affectionately calling it “Jensen’s 11” will be in Vermillion, SD this year.  If you are reading this, you are invited.  It will be nice to have it at an easy location this year and Jensen will do a GREAT job.  Next year will be a cruise for Rat Pack 12 or as I affectionately call it “Bazemore’s 12”.  So go to both and enjoy life.  Year 13’s guy has already been picked for who is doing it…and his name rhymes with Dew….

8. I’m kind of enjoying this quiet start to the year with everything on the horizon this year.  In no short order: People are finally visiting me down here, wedding in May, honeymoon, a few awesome weddings, a nice trip or two in the fall ( CAN’T WAIT) and of course the usual random adventures.  2015.  Best Year Ever 2.

9. Finished the Americans.  Great show, now I can actually watch it week to week like a normal person.  Now for the next show to start?  The Wire?  Californiacation?  Any recommendations?

10. Look out for my first guest columnist tonight.  He is reviewing my mix CD and as of this writing I’m not sure if it’s an instant classic like Limp Bizkit’s 2nd album or a sleepwalk like Limp Bizkit’s 4th album.  We shall see!  Til next time.

Jeff Kleeman

2 thoughts on “Paul Shaffer

Leave a comment