Best. Songs. Ever.

So to prime up for next weeks super, top secret blog that involves music, thought I would do a quick blog on my favorite songs of all time, because why not? It’s my blog.

So I used to get paid to play music, and if you think the way I worded it sounds a bit grimy and nasty, well it is.  I worked at a bar for a few years, playing rock and hip hop songs so people could go home and sleep together.  So if you’re reading this and you took someone home to “In Da Club” you’re welcome.  As a matter of fact, you are now probably richer than him as well.

I then went on to become a wedding DJ a whopping 2 times, before deciding to retire like Jay Z…that is, until my buddy asked me to DJ his wedding. And just like Jay Z’s comeback, that was a slight disaster, leading to my ultimate retirement of playing music for people.

I love music, in fact I’ve already had a previous blog of the most underrated songs of all time, go ahead, click it, it’s great!

https://thekleemanreport.wordpress.com/2015/04/07/just-push-play/

Now I spend my time at home, still listening to a lot of music, sharing it with my friends, even arguing about the best Mariah Carey song (my choice is Honey because…well…)

So here they are, in no particular order.  The Best.  Songs.  Ever.

I love this song, and if you knew me in college, this was actually my texting tone.  So you are probably still sick of hearing it. It’s Al Green at his best AND if you’ve ever seen Pulp Fiction, the scene this song is used in is fantastic.  Go get this song. Now!

This is my favorite Beatles song of all time.  It’s just so WEIRD!  It’s just fantastic.  Really it’s the song that started me getting in to “alt” music like Radiohead, and even more in to Beck, who is my favorite artist of all time.

Blur is amazing.  Ultimately the frontman went on to be in one of my favorite alt bands, Gorillaz.  The song is so calming and relaxing, but not at the same time.  And the video is easily one of the best videos ever made.

I love Broken Bells!  Danger Mouse and the lead singer for The Shins is an amazing combo.  It was a toss up with this song and one called “Vaporize” but at least this way you can see Joan from Mad Men in a music video.  Enjoy!

Before Coldplay really started to suck, they had an amazing album called “A Rush of Blood to the Head” and this is one of the standout songs on that album.  It’s really good, and if anyone asks you the now famous quote “You know how I know you’re gay?  You like Coldplay!”  You respond with “Well it’s not really embarrassing to be gay or like Coldplay you Nickelback fan”.

I can rap this off the top of my head, now if you want, give me a call.  True story, once did this acapella at a karaoke bar. Two of my best friends did the beat, I rapped, standing ovation, get off stage, and beers for everybody!   Except me, not bitter though cuz we tore that place down!!!

Eminem’s best song in my opinion among many.  Took the last verse to heart in college, maybe a little too much.

This songs amazing.  It’s great.  It’s also one of the few songs I know by Guster so there’s also that.

How The Knux never got huge, is beyond me.  This song is great, it should be heard by all, and it should be shared, right now.

Up until Kanye got himself Kardashian’d he was one of my favorite artists ever.  One of the few in hip hop to get truly adventurous and try new things.  He sampled freaking Daft Punk.  He’s worked with Bon Iver!  I mean what happened to you man!?

There’s a lot of rock I love, this is my personal favorite out of any rock song.  Just crank this up and jam out if you have had a day…

My favorite hip hop group of all time and top 5 rapper (Andre 3000).  I can also rap this front to end, but you don’t want to hear it, because it’s not as good…obviously.

The best rapper of all time (sorry Biggie fans).  This is my favorite song by him with an assist from George Clinton.

I love N.E.R.D. and I used to love Pharrell.  This song is great, close call between this and a song called “Happy” before he came out with…the overplayed Happy.

This band is the shit.  This song is amazing.  Listen now and listen loud.

Surprised!?  I am, but the song is great.  I hate Nikki Sixx and think the Crue are overrated, but this song on the other hand, is amazing.  Deal with it.

Probably the most beautiful song ever made.  It’s amazing.  Not quite Sixx AM, which is probably a good thing ha.

Mid 90’s awesomeness here.  Will never forgive Scott Weiland for only doing 2 minutes of this when I paid money to see them live.  He is a piece of shit, but he used to be an awesomely talented piece of shit.

I’ll finish with this.  Community is one of my favorite shows of all time.  So when I saw a guy from Community had a rap album, I thought it would suck, and boy was I wrong.  The most talented rapper now (with Kendrick Lamar, obviously).  Best wordplay and a great album that this happens to be on.

And with that, my work here is done.  Hope you liked my selections, if not I put a picture below for you to not send me to musical prison because I like something you don’t.

With that being said, hope you enjoyed this list.  Feel free to critique, add your own songs so I can hear them and give your opinion…just make sure you don’t music snob me or try to point out my grammar.  Don’t care about either 😉

2 thoughts on “Best. Songs. Ever.

Leave a comment