Let’s Go Sports!

Sanders_Deion

I feel like writing about sports tonight, so if you don’t like sports, skip this one, or don’t, cuz it might be funny.

So I earlier spoke of my love of the 49’ers.  All due to Deion Sanders joining them in 1994 (remember the game where he fought Andre Rison?  Baddass).

So I’ll admit, I bandwagoned the hell out of them.  Glad I did, they won the Super Bowl that year, so I’m one of the few who has gotten to see their team win a Super Bowl…then when he left for the Cowboys, I stuck with them, out of pure hatred for him leaving after one year, that jerk.

So they were good for a few years afterwards, then the 00’s hit… ouch.  Just, god awful.  They were not good.  Reaches on coaches, bad draft picks, busts, just a mess, which is why I was so excited when they signed Jim Harbaugh.

I had no idea he would be as good as he ended up, I was thinking more 9-7, maybe playoffs, not NFC Championship game 3 years in a row, Super Bowl appearance (a loss, but how many of you reading this had your team make a Super Bowl lately?) and all around bad ass team.  It’s awesome, except for the fact that he’s most likely gone after this year.  Seriously!?  Get rid of a coach who has done nothing but win and replace him with someone (Jim Tomsula) who, more than likely, won’t replicate that success.  That’s fun.  Then halt the development of their franchise QB who has regressed this year…seriously, what happened to Kaepernick?

It’s weird rooting for sports, , especially as an adult.  Rooting for people that are more than likely not good people (the 9ers alone had a man accused of beating his pregnant wife, Kaepernick have a rape allegation, their cornerback is a homophobic idiot who had an illegal weapon in his car and just go ahead and Google all that Aldon Smith has done), this years seen a lot of idiots and I haven’t even mentioned Ray Rice or AP.  You also get weirdly attached to players or coaches who seemingly are decent people (Navarro Bowman, Patrick Willis, Harbaugh), then they may leave or, in the 9ers case, get forced out.  It’s weirdly frustrating, but I’m a pseudo control freak and hate having no control over anything that happens.  I WILL WRITE A LETTER!  Speaking of which, we sent a legit wedding invite to Jim Harbaugh, I’d put his attendance at our wedding at 2%, down to .5% if he gets fired.

Quite an interesting year for coaches, it’s crazy living in Lincoln, Nebraska when Bo Pellini got fired.  It’s so crazy because I’m really not sure which side of the argument to believe.  He consistently won 8-9 games a year.  A lot of colleges would KILL for that.  But here that wasn’t enough.  I’m a Michigan fan, and the past few years, I’d kill for 8-9 wins, that’s a bowl game!  Glass half full.  Glass half empty, he was the coach of a team that never won important games.  So I see why he was canned, but at the same time, it may be the best that Nebraska does for years.

There’s also the fun debate if most Big 10 teams are still relevant and if kids want to play for them.  People will want to play for a good team/coach regardless of where they are located.  It just so happens the Big 10 have a lot of crap coaches or programs in flux.  Alabama sucked ass before Saban got there.  Florida St. had some crappy years.  Notre Dame is back and forth.  Auburn is good when their players get paid well enough.  The list goes on and on, it goes in waves and people are stupid to think it’s location.  If that was the case South Florida and San Diego St. would have the top ranked teams in the nation.  Miami would be a top 5 team and..um…aren’t.  Sorry Ras.

So quick thoughts about sports right now, in no particular order: fantasy football is the most frustrating thing ever invented, I finished the worst I’ve EVER finished this year, 2-11…am I excited for next year already?  Sadly yes.  My other league I also finished in last, luckily I get two top draft picks in a dynasty format (how football nerdy did that sound?) so if anyone in that league is reading this, yes I’m taking Mariota and Melvin Gordon 1-2, so suck it.  Also I have another league (3 of 5…seriously) where my fiance did better than me and made the playoffs tonight, so that’s kind of nice.

Michigan meets with Brady Hoke tomorrow, as a Michigan fan, fire him, let him find a team to go coach that isn’t as important, and hope to god you hire someone good who will actually stick around and get the program back.  Sick of losing to Ohio St. every year.

The Bulls are still awesome and Derrick Rose has played consecutive games and not gotten hurt, so that’s a good start!

The Mariners signed Nelson Cruz which is great (and not so great, cuz he’s a cheater who used steroids, going back to what I said earlier, so weird rooting for people!).  But hopefully they can make the playoffs next year and in 2 years make the World Series and play my good friends favorite team, the Cubs.  That’d be pretty awesome.  Hey a good pitching staff and their older people on offense maybe have 2-3 good years left…um, hopefully.

Well that’s my sports rant for today, if you made it through this, ha thanks for reading.  It was fun to write about this, and consider yourself lucky I didn’t even touch the subject of pro wrestling.

Jeff Kleeman

PS Almost forgot my Futbol team taking down Alex Baker’s team this weekend, that was the only good sports thing to happen seemingly in the past 3 months.

One thought on “Let’s Go Sports!

Leave a comment