Year End Review

497606412_640

I love how they do the “Year In Review” articles a few days before it’s actually the end of the year.  So I’m going to join in on the fun…hopefully nothing too crazy happens in the next few days.  I don’t want to have to add in something in a few days.

The year I started to HATE football, elaborated on far too much already in this, so we’ll just move along, also in the next few days Jim Harbaugh will pick if he goes to Michigan or goes to the Raiders.  So basically he’s leaving my favorite all time team, to go to my favorite college team which will make the anger a lot less OR he will go to the Raiders, make them awesome and I’ll be furious when the Raiders consistently have a better record than the 9ers… I HATE football.

First wedding of the year was in January with two of my friends, Cody and Morgan.  What I learned from that experience, I still “got it” with the older ladies and I can only do one “dance off” per wedding dance, not 2…I’m still sore.  On a related note, do not physically pick someone up with Karl Reasoner, he will leave you.  Also, Chris Rider at weddings = great stories, the lady was not a lesbian…

I became a godfather, which was super awesome.  Because my godparents sucked (no cards, Christmas cards, general hellos…deal with it if you’re reading this and disagree) I decided to be an awesome one.  So that kid will get birthday/Christmas gifts, possible life lessons and endless harassment the rest of his life for liking the Vikings…blame his dad (Aaron Pew) for that one.

I hate Miley Cryus and it pains me to type this because my friend John likes her so much….BUT I HATE HER!

The Olympics were this year…I’m sure you also forgot about that til I looked, and the only takeaway I have from that, is women’s curling should do a bikini calendar.

Ugh I still hate football, I think the NFL is more fixed then the WWE.

My friends Kelsey and Joey got married, what did I learn from that wedding?  That we can still get royally f’d up.  Wow that was a great night.  We also found possibly the most dangerous couple to drink with in Erik and Bethany.  Holy crap, that night… on a related note, anytime you can get an ex girlfriend to run out of a bar just by walking in, that’s the sign of a good night.

The year of the RUNNING!  I ran my first half marathon this year, and a 5k and a 10k.  Gonna keep it at that.  Will I run again?  Not quite sure, the best part was running with a friend of mine from college named Taeh who I hadn’t seen in roughly 6 years.

Vacation to Deadwood was all I expected.  By far my favorite place in the entire world.  This time no bachelor party, no Rat Pack, no birthday party and no New Years celebration.  Just your usual run of the mill, drinking, gambling, Mt. Rushmore viewing vacation with my fiance.

This year I have won approximately 8 radio contests, the best?  WWE Smackdown is one of the most fun things to do live.  Meeting Coolio was cool until I found out he’s a woman beater.  And I’m not mad I missed out on the roller girls… well, maybe.

Wedding planning!  So for those reading this, I gotta tell ya, LONG ENGAGEMENTS ARE THE BEST!  STOP RUSHING IN TO IT!

Seriously, gave us enough time to relax, do pictures, pay for everything, actually have time to say “fiance”.  And for those of you reading this who are going to our wedding, it’s gonna be a gas…trust me.

Speaking of stuff to NOT DO when you get married.  Don’t get a roommate.  Dumbest idea I probably ever came up with, I could’ve lived with Mother Teresa or Britney Palmer and still hated my life.

brittney_palmer-1

I just wouldn’t recommend it, but we did it.  Positives: we saved money for the wedding.  Negatives: everything else because that girl was the worst.  Possibly the worst human being on the planet.

Fiance’s family reunion was a pretty great time.  I believe I am still tan from that day, and nice to meet her family as well.  My family needs to get to work on one of those, I don’t remember the last time we all met up.  My wedding will be the next time, and I believe we’re still missing a few.

People liked Soccer (Futbol) for a week or two this year and it was great!  Out of that, I now have a hatred for Alex Baker’s team, as he does for mine.  I see what Craig and Karl have been talking about all these years.

All my friends started having kids, and that’s great!  Got to meet them all this year, that was cool.  It’s interesting how much change can happen in a few years.  Looking forward to when I get to have one someday (not anytime soon) with Heather.

Ice Bucket Challenge came and went… I think it went to a great cause, but if just reading that made me thirsty….

End of August was THE SHIT!  So resumed my party bus fun (first time not in charge, and it was great).  Got to eat at the Pizza Inn, always a dream of mine, and got to see the majority of my Sioux Falls friends.  We also had our fantasy draft weekend..no comment…a few days later though we had….

RAT PACK TEN, 10, X.  Thoughts on Rat Pack.  At the time it was the most exhausting vacation I’ve ever had ha.  Had my bachelor party, Heather sort of had her bachelorette party.  For the most part it was great.  We had over 40 people there hanging out, having new stories.  That was the sole purpose of keeping that party going and I’m glad it worked.  All time it’s probably my 2nd or 3rd favorite of them (Deadwood wins easily, even with 2 happenings I’m still pissed off about it).  It was also my last one I’m planning for a while, it’ll be nice to see a different person plan on every year.  Ben Bazemore in 2015.  Kyle Jensen in 2016 and now Aaron Pew for 2017.  Bazemore as of now is planning it for a cruise ship, so whoever makes it will have a blast I’m sure.

This happened:  https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=10100214239948634&set=vb.41301313&type=2&theater

D Days happened this year, the 100th, the #findbrokaw initiative took place.  We failed, I possibly got concussed, we’ll do it again next year.

tom_brokaw-300

Huskers game this year, we only made it to one, but holy crap was it a game.  Met up with John Pancheri and his lady, drank a TON.  We got Tyler Brearley’d.  Went in the stadium, got to be on the sideline for a bit, left at halftime to get Brearely’d again, did my first Flabongo, hung out with “dangerous” couple Bethany and Erik and just went HAM.  Oh Miami played Nebraska, Nebraska won…Pelini did not.  Also Brady Hoke left Michigan.  As of this writing possibly Harbaugh going there, and Nebraska got their coach…he’s from some high school or something.

Fall weddings…holy shit.  Tons of them.  Heather went to one in Indianapolis that I couldn’t go to, simply because we had so many weddings otherwise to go to…sorry Kathy.

Amber’s wedding, quick, to the point.  The DJ did a killer Elvis, I think we were propositioned to couple swap and we ended up at a college house party that night wearing masks from The Purge with Sarah and Brad…who also got married this month.

Lisa and Ben got married, at a house…in town.  That was a first.  It was a cool ceremony, pretty small.  We drank a lot and ended up dancing on the dance floor the entire night.  And since these last two took place around Halloween, we took Heather’s/my future niece out trick or treating…she was Elsa…as were 80 other girls.

Todd and Johanna’s wedding was this month.  Great and memorable date.  What I learned from that day, in no particular order: staying up til 4 AM sucks now, Eric Rasmussen is the best date of all time, and our group I believe should meet up at the Crowbar at least once every other month.  Also I bumped in to one of the teachers who told me I’d be a good writer, so yeah… this wouldn’t exist without that guy maybe.

Next year there are approximately 501 weddings.  Mine, my mom’s, Stephen Varns, Anna Narem’s Tony Begley, Brooke Nelson.  It will be a great year.  More great stories.

This is the longest report EVER!  So if you read through all of this, thanks for reading, I have fun writing these things.  Next year will be amazing…in fact it’s already named Best Year Ever 2 by me.  Best Year Ever 1 was pretty great in it’s own right, I feel next year will be even better…and I can have many more stories that people will ask if they are real or not…they are real…and they are spectacular.

Jeff Kleeman

2 thoughts on “Year End Review

Leave a comment