We Are Dunphy!

Speaking with my friend Karl today, he dropped a little internet lingo on me.  TBH.  To which Jeff’s inner voice reacted with “What in the hell is TBH?!”  After going through every option (including “that’s bitching hair”) I had to Google it.  And it means “To be honest”.  So I thought I would whip up a quick blog and drop some knowledge on ya’ll, to help out, because I don’t want a travesty like that happening to anyone…ever again.

Let’s get rid of the old standbys, the easy ones, I’ll give a brief explanation of each one of course:

BRB: be right back (not coming back)

when-people-say-brb-they-never-come-back

FYI: for your information (usually means something is SUPER DUPER important)

LOL: laugh out loud (not really laughing)

TMI: too much information (wants to know more information)

tmi

OMG: oh my God (person’s not really interested, but has to have a response…also an Usher song)

BTW: by the way (usually used when you’re in trouble with your significant other)

WTF: why the face?  (thanks Phil Dunphy and Jon Mammenga)

IDK: i don’t know (oh YOU KNOW)

JK: just kidding (not really kidding…also my initials)

The above are also known as the ONLY shortening of anything, that anyone over 24 should ever use.  EVER.  Now let’s get in to what I like to call…  acceptable shortenings:

IMHO: in my humble opinion (you’re a douchebag…oh sorry, ur a douchebg)

POV: point of view (wants more text pics)

NP: no problem BUT ALSO

NP: nosy parents (seriously…)

TBH: to be honest (only used by Karl Reasoner…I think)

OIC: oh, i see (CAN YOU JUST SPELL IT OUT!?)

obama

SOL: shit out of luck (this one always bugged me, because there should be TWO O’s…SOOL…and I don’t like the word outta, I’m all about that grammar, about that grammar..)

TDTM: talk dirty to me (those kids and their sexting…also a song by Poison, which is acceptable if used in that format)

ISO: in search of (this is strictly for angsty people)

So now that we got those out of the way, let’s get to the ones that should never, EVER be used.

L8R: later (GROW UP!)

resized_jesus-says-meme-generator-smell-you-l8r-c3dca3

2nite: tonight (SERIOUSLY GROW UP!)

GR8: great (I AM CURLING UP IN A LITTLE BALL NOW!)

BFF: best friends forever (come on now… also means not best friends forever…)

DILLIGAS: do i look like a give a shit (i didn’t even know this existed, but it’s awful…would be a good rap name though)

IRL: in real life (definitely not real life)

NIMBY: not in my backyard (how in the hell is this a thing!?)

carl

SWAK: sealed with a kiss (you’re getting laid)

XOXO: hugs and kisses (you’re not getting laid)

TTYL: talk to you later (maybe)

I think we got the gist, so now it’s time to get in to acceptable ones, with the help of Karl Reasoner, we have done just that. We will be compiling a list of acceptable abbreviations, that you can use and not be made fun of for.

PART II: COMING SOON

One thought on “We Are Dunphy!

Leave a comment